Gov’t: Internal reorganisation involving 17 public departments


The government will reorganise some 17 public departments that are under the secretariats for Economy and Finance, Security and Transport and Public Works, according to a reply by the Public Administration and Civil Service Bureau (SAFP) to an interpellation by legislator Chan Meng Kam.
The departments include: Macao Economic Services (DSE), Consumer Council, Macao Trade and Investment Promotion Institute (IPIM), Transport Bureau (DSAT), Financial Intelligence Office (GIF), Cartography and Cadastre Bureau, the Land, Public Works and Transport Bureau (DSSOPT), Infrastructure Development Office (GID), Transportation Infrastructure Office, Environmental Protection Bureau (DSPA), Office for the Development of the Energy Sector, Civic and Municipal Affairs Bureau (IACM), Social Security Fund (FSS), Judiciary Police (PJ), Public Security Forces Police Force (PSP), Public Security Forces Affairs Bureau and Marine and Water Bureau (DSAMA).
The reorganisation of departments will be on-going, taking place until 2019, stated the SAFP.
When asked whether the government would consider combining the Cultural Industry Fund, Committee of Cultural Industries (CIC) and Cultural Affairs Bureau (IC) into one department, the SAFP, with opinions collected from IC, stated that the government would not consider combining the departments.
However, parties are looking into the feasibility of joining the CIC’s administration, secretarial and financial side with that of the IC.
In response to an enquiry by Legislator Chan about the quantity of fund departments, the SAFP described that each supports its own task – including providing financial support and helping directly on the projects funded.